This board has been archived, no new registrations are allowed. Please come join us on our discord!

Add new Indicator ATR

Submit your request for new features, such as new indicators, insurances, safeties, and new exchange support.
kapetan
Beta Tester
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 4:35 am

Add new Indicator ATR

Postby kapetan » Thu Apr 09, 2015 1:35 pm


User avatar
stephan
Administrator
Posts: 1047
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:37 am
Contact:

Re: Add new Indicator ATR

Postby stephan » Fri Apr 10, 2015 3:02 pm

If you can tell me on which event you want to trigger an buy or sell then i will add this one in for 2.2 too. ;)
Join the telegram group too: https://t.me/haasonlineofficial

kapetan
Beta Tester
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 4:35 am

Re: Add new Indicator ATR

Postby kapetan » Fri Apr 10, 2015 5:26 pm

i was thinking more like an combine indicator with others indicators to trigger entry positions.

http://www.tradingmarkets.com/recent/ho ... 77507.html

User avatar
Phillis
Administrator
Posts: 554
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 12:03 pm

Re: Add new Indicator ATR

Postby Phillis » Fri Apr 10, 2015 8:05 pm

yeah but can you give us an example of how we should generate trade signals with ATR? We have looked at this in the past but we can't really work out how to automate good trade signals from this indicator. Obviously people use this indicator for stop losses but its unclear how we can universally do this with static values to provide trade signals.

User avatar
stephan
Administrator
Posts: 1047
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:37 am
Contact:

Re: Add new Indicator ATR

Postby stephan » Mon Apr 13, 2015 9:43 am

He has a good point. The ATR is in commenly used in combination with the mathmatics of other indicators. For example, its a part of the SuperTrend indicator or the xSuperFlat indicator.

We do have build in support for ATR and we do use it already. But like i and phil say, we did looked at it and as an single indicator it seems not to be really usefull. There are not ways to get an direct signal of it. We have tries tresholds, steppings and things alike, but non showed usefull.

Of course the offer remains standing, if you want this then we are happy to support it but we need to find a way to trigger it. Thats the biggest problem.

BTW... i am not sure if you have seen this but we do have support for scripted indicators, this way you can make you own custom indicator and mathmatics. Is this not the better solution you are looking fore?
Join the telegram group too: https://t.me/haasonlineofficial

kapetan
Beta Tester
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 4:35 am

Re: Add new Indicator ATR

Postby kapetan » Wed Apr 15, 2015 9:03 pm

sorry if i cannt express very well what i have in mind
english is not my first language

i give some more info that give good info how we can use ATR as part of startegy

Average True Range Indicator Explained Simply In 3 Minutes
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=whdj-d52hU0

Day Trading Tips For Beginners - Learn To Use ATR Indictor
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oI2yiyXkYjY

Chart Attack 3 -- Average True Range (ATR)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6O_n5b8GLM4

ATR is a part of a stategy not a indicator to use it alone

An example of a stategy is

- an average indicator or a Bollinger Babks
- ATR
- stop losses (that take data from atr dynamic

target is higher profitability and redused loses :)


Return to “Feature Requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests