This board has been archived, no new registrations are allowed. Please come join us on our discord!

General impression from a beginner. Developers, please read.

Found a bug in our software? Post here with a detailed description and logs.
polyclick

General impression from a beginner. Developers, please read.

Postby polyclick » Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:24 pm

Hi there!

So, I've been running the Haasbot software for about a week now. These are my impressions. I sincerely hope that the haasonline developers read this post and take all these comments as positive criticism. Also, I sincerely apologize if this post sounds a bit rage-y. I'm trying to keep the tone down, but I just can't ignore my massive frustrations with the software.

Why am I posting this here? Well, I never used this software before. So I hope by giving a fresh look from a new-comer, the developers are able to realize what new people will go through the first few days.

Some background information: I'm a developer myself for about 16 years (mostly web development). So, I know a thing or two about how application and web development goes. This makes it even harder for me to ignore how poorly this platform is (currently) written. I'm very sorry to say this. But keep reading, hopefully you understand why and maybe this gives some hints for the direction the developers of this platform should take.

Now don't understand me wrong. I'm not in the position to say what the developers should do, but as a paying client I sincerely believe that I'm allowed to have my opinion or at least let new-comers know where they get them into.

Ok, so I'm building my own bot for a few weeks now. Just as a research project for myself. Until one day, I was looking for some inspiration. So, I stumbled upon the haasonline website. It looked very appealing to me (now, here's a positive point! :P). So I emptied my pockets and subscribed for a subscription. From then on, well, it all went a bit downhill.